Prolife October

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.

James 1:17

I was thrilled to hear about Prolife October and for bloggers to spread the word that saving babies matters. But make sure you are obviously prolife all the time and not just in October. Even as babies are growing in the womb, they aren’t just a bundle of cells but a living human beings. They can feel pain even before they are born!

Knowing what I do of some of the abortion methods, I thank God that He is merciful and that He is just. The Bible doesn’t say for a fact if the unborn go to Heaven, but I know God loves these little ones and I am confident that He will take care of them.

To me, babies are a miracle. Working in my church nursery is a joy, and my favorite days in there are when I get to hold a baby. When I hold any baby, but especially my Lily, there is this feeing I can’t explain. I remember being much younger and picking up my friend’s cat, and there was this hollow ache in my chest. I didn’t understand why, but later the thought came to me that I would rather be holding a creature without fur. I remember holding my friend’s baby for her, and feeling such joy. I wanted to hold him forever.

I know some people aren’t ‘baby people’ and I can’t quite wrap my mind around that. I can understand they don’t like the noise, I don’t like the sound of crying either but I deal with it.

A few weeks ago, I finally had the opportunity to tell my older brother in person that we were expecting for the second time. My younger brothers had congratulated and even sounded pleased, but my older brother sounded confused. He didn’t elaborate why, and we were in a crowd. So I simply told him that it seemed like a good time for a second child. (Not that it was done in my timing, but in God’s timing.)

“A good time?” he repeated.

“Yes! Lily is old enough to be able to help, and it seems like a good time for another baby.”

My older brother looked skeptically at Lily. So I listed off the various ways she’s been helping me around the house. The latest is helping me empty the small plates and silverware out of the dishwasher. Picking up things for me, handing me laundry, and putting away her toys with a bit of coaching. She is a delight to me and my husband.

But I’ve been trying to make it clear to my siblings, that Lily wasn’t an accident and neither is this baby. I prayed for both these children and God gave them to me.

Why does being prolife matter?

Babies matter because human lives matter. And either we believe babies are human beings are we don’t. Being prolife means encouraging Christian married couples to have children, and not to be selfish. It means encouraging those that had their children, no disparaging jokes about birth control not working, or about the large size of their family. I hear this a lot that couples that are blessed with a big family, everyone looks at them like they have lost their minds even our Christian brothers and sisters in the church! Now I understand the world looking at them this way, the world’s priories are selfish and skewed. But I think the church (or at least some of them) have forgotten that children are a blessing from God. And that if God values them, so should we.

We need to fight to protect the lives of the unborn and to love the children that are in our lives. And I don’t just mean those of us that have children, I mean trying to protect and interact with children that aren’t ours. Yesterday I found myself watching a baby that was crawling around just because his mother seemed distracted. Our churches are full of children that occasionally need watching from time to time.

Grace Johnson wrote a beautiful article about being prolife, which phrases things much better than I did here. I encourage you to read it, but the best paragraphs I’ve quoted here. I salute you Grace Johnson.

https://www.graceajohnson.com/post/thank-you-for-taking-a-stand-write-for-life-blog-tour?postId=482a06a0-b46b-42f6-a898-fb967972809e

“Because being pro-life doesn’t just mean being against abortion. It means having an open womb and being pro-reproduction. It means loving children who aren’t yours and might not have anyone else to love them. It means viewing all people—no matter how sinful—as precious in the sight of God. It means being against homosexuality and transgenderism, which malign God’s intentions for life and stifle the ability to procreate. It means praying for those who have made mistakes and had abortions in the past—because their lives matter too. It means praying for those who have performed abortions or administered drugs. It means praying for those who have convinced others to abort. It means speaking up and being bold about life and God’s purpose for each of us.

If God loves the lives of humans so much that He would send His Son to sacrifice His…then we should as well. And remember that you can be pro-life without ever donating a dollar or casting a vote. All you have to do is pray and love. Take a stand and be an unmovable beacon of hope to those who struggle.

The way you live your life could save a hundred others.”

One thought on “Prolife October”

Leave a comment